2017/2018 Jordan Scholars Class

(from left to right- front row) Elise Marshall, Jada Franklin, Alia Smith, Sharon Mamuya, Ashley Tibbs
(back row) Sydney Timm, Carolyn Fink, Alessandro Stanco, Carver Bartz, Sam Schneider, Roderick Orellana, Jesus Juarez, Josh Winters, Helen Gould, Brie Salloum, Allie Tubbs, Angela Cai, Sofia VanZee

The 2017/2018 class of James Jordan Scholars Leadership Institute kicked off with 21 area high school juniors Wednesday August 16 at West Des Moines City Hall. After the Scholars were welcomed by Education Committee members and representatives of the City of West Des Moines, they broke up into small groups to design an “egg transport container.” Groups took their eggs and projects to the 2nd floor of City Hall and dropped them over the edge, in hopes of their group’s egg staying intact. This team building exercise was the opportunity for students from 11 high schools to meet one another and begin to share this experience.


The Scholars completed a busy schedule:

August 16, 2017: Welcome and Orientation
September 27, 20017: West Des Moines History & James Jordan at the Jordan House Museum
October 11, 2017: Civil Rights panel with Nancy Mwirotsi, Dionna Langford & Rob Barron
October 25, 2017: Polk County Government with the Polk Co. Supervisors
November 8, 2017: Agriculture at Kemin Industries with Libby Nelson
December 6, 2017: Humanitarism at the World Food Prize Hall of Laureates
January 17, 2018: State Government with Rep. Ruth Ann Gaines and delegates at the State Capitol
February 17, 2018: Banking at West Bank with Jill Hansen and West Bank staff
March 7, 2018: Agriculture at John Deere Ankeny Works
April 11, 2018: Community Involvement with the Greater Des Moines Partnership with Eugene T. Meyer & Des Moines Chief of Police Dana Wingert
May 16, 2018: Graduation at Raccoon River Park Nature Lodge. Featured speaker West Des Moines City Councilperson Renee Hardman


Award winners : Sofia VanZee, Angela Cai, Marianna Elia, Samuel Schneider